Two years later – Bicycle Crashes and Trusting in God

Jeremiah 32:17 – New King James Version (NKJV)

17 ‘Ah, Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for You.

Two years ago, our family was rocked by every bicyclist’s worst fear.  Or at least mine – my beautiful wife of many years was hit by a motorist while we were on vacation at one of our favorite spots in Florida.

Enjoying a ride on a separated bike path, one of the safest places one would think to ride, she was cut off by a driver turning off the main road and suffered a number of injuries from the impact.  I recalled the incident, her recovery, and the many people who have helped us in this post at the 5 month mark.

I believe that the Lord gives us the incredible ability to heal from the past through remembering the good in the bad; the life lessons and joy despite the pain.

I remember His Goodness in blessing us with so many people coming alongside to help us through.

I remember the incredible strength of my wife to push through the healing process and “cross that mental line” to start riding again.

I remember the impact this had on me personally to savor each and every day, to hold the moments we have here as precious, and to become even more of an advocate for safe streets.

Everyday life may keep me “busy” – but I will strive to remember my Purpose here.

Ride your Ride, or Run your Race – everyday!

20160820_125325

Enjoying one of our biggest rides together, almost two years later

 

20161005_170051

Family time on trails together, back at it and strong!

Leave a Reply

